• Humboldt Research Award for Frank den Hollander

    Frank den Hollander has been awarded a Humboldt Research Award by the Humboldt Foundation. He has been nominated by Andreas Greven (Universität Erlangen-Nurnberg) and Anton Bovier (Universität Bonn). This award is valued at €60,000.


  • Special issue of Journal of Statistical Physics devoted to Complex Networks

    A special issue of the Journal of Statistical Physics that has been published recently is devoted to Complex Networks. Editors of this special issue are Diego Garlaschelli, Remco van der Hofstad, Frank den Hollander and Michel Mandjes.


  • Watch the presentations of the KNAW Symposium on Networks online!

    by Nicos Starreveld


    In the evening of 16 October a wonderful symposium on Networks took place in the public library of Amsterdam. The symposium was organized by Ella Uijtdewilligen (Dutch Academy of Sciences), Michel Mandjes (University of Amsterdam) and Frank den Hollander (Leiden University).

  • Mark de Berg best Master teacher at TU/e

    At the grand festive MomenTUm ceremony at Eindhoven University of Technology on Friday September 21st NETWORKS Project team member Mark de Berg won the education award for the best Master teacher.


  • PACE 2018 winners announced

    Bart Jansen was, for the third year in row, one of the organizers of the Parameterized Algorithms and Computational Experiments (PACE 2018).


  • Looking back on the 9th NETWORKS day

    On September 19, the 9th NETWORKS day took place on a beautiful sunny day in the botanical gardens of Leiden.


  • First NETWORKS PhD graduates both receive the cum laude distinction

    August 28th  was a special day for NETWORKS since the very first NETWORKS PhD students defended their PhD theses. Souvik Dhara and Debankur Mukherjee not only graduated on the same day, but also both received the cum laude distinction. We are immensely proud of Souvik and Debankur!


  • ERC Starting Grant for Bart Jansen

    A European Research Council (ERC) Starting Grant worth up to € 1,473,020 has been awarded to Bart Jansen for his project 'Rigorous Search Space Reduction’. In the five-year project, two PhD students and five postdoc years will be involved.


  • Stella Kapodistria TU/e PI in DeSIRE

    The 4TU Federation will invest 4.5 million Euro in energizing research and research capacity in the field of resilience technology in the coming years. We are very proud to announce that Dr. Stella Kapodistria is the principal investigator and leader of the TU/e effort in the research program “Designing Systems for Informed Resilience Engineering” (DeSIRE).


  • Best Student Paper Award for Debankur Mukherjee

    Debankur Mukherjee (PhD student with Sem Borst and Johan van Leeuwaarden) received the Best Student Paper Award at the 2018 ACM SIGMETRICS Conference in Irvine CA for his paper entitled “Asymptotically Optimal Load Balancing Topologies” (co-authored by Sem Borst and Johan van Leeuwaarden).