BeNeLux Mathematical Congress

Location: University of Amsterdam, Faculty of Science, Science Park 904, 1098 XH Amsterdam
Date: 22-23 March 2016
Organizers: Herman te Riele (CWI), Sonja Cox (UvA), André Ran (VU)

Number of participants: 290


On 22-23 March 2016 the BeNeLux Mathematical Congress took place. This congress was jointly organized by the Koninklijk Wiskundig Genootschap, the Belgian Mathematical Society and the Luxembourg Mathematical Society,  and incorporated the 52nd Netherlands Mathematical Congress.


Local organisation

The local organization was in the hands of a team of mathematicians from the Centrum Wiskunde en Informatica (CWI), the University of Amsterdam (UvA) and the Vrije Universiteit (VU) consisting of:

Herman te Riele (CWI)
Sonja Cox (UvA)
André Ran (VU)

During this congress the De Bruijn Prize, established in honor of N.G. de Bruijn, was awarded for the first time in 2016. De Bruijn’s son and daughter attended the prize ceremony and presented
the medal to the winner, Prof.dr. Marius Crainic. Prof. Crainic gave a semi-plenary lecture at the conference.


Target group

This event was organized for staff and students of the mathematical institutes of the Benelux.

For more details on the programme visit the website of Koninklijk Wiskundig Genootschap.